Bedford United Church Special Congregational Meeting July 28, 2024

A special Congregational meeting of Bedford United Church was held in the Sanctuary on Sunday, July 28, 2024 following the Worship Service. It was streamed for people at home - those people voted and are recorded below.

Present: Tim Rorabeck (Chair of Council), Carolyn Crowell (Secretary), Kathy McKay (Regional representative), Linda Darrach, Rita Stevens, Sandy Stevens, Cliff Dahms, Sue Stewart, Sylvia Branton, Pat Branton, Nanci Rorabeck, Penny McKeen, Sandra Nimmo, Ruth Strubank, Rena Hill, Beverley Deelstra, Kais Deelstra, Anne Boucher, Greta Wilson.

Laurie Bowness, Lynne Borrell, Heather DuJohn, Julie Irwin, Carol Card, Heather Dickson, Lisa Card, Abigail Card-Smith, Gena Keays, Vi Parnell, Linda Stewart, Lidia Thomson, Angela Falkenham, Anne Boutilier, Mary Louise Mills, Marg Ashcroft, Gordon McEachern, Wayne Putnam, Carolyn MacDonald, Rob Smith, Sarah Birch, Heidi Hornmoen, Kendall Younker, Kimberley Wilson, Shawn Oakey, Jan Oakey, Bev Carlin, Greg Carlin, Connie Graham, Pat LeFort, Nancy Wynn, Janice Reid, Chris Gallant, MaryLou Gallant, Ian MacVicar, Jill Mills, Judy Tolson, Bey Stevens, Ann MacVicar, Don MacVicar, Keith Barnett, James Gammon, Jeffrey King, Kristin King, Gertie Oldford, Bob Marryatt, Bernice Marryatt, Roxane Butler, Michelle Goueffic, Marion Cross. Everett Cross, Dawn Dickieson-Leger, Andrea McQuillan, Diane Allen, David Keefe, Don Ambler, Bernice Campbell, Sid Veysey, John Parker, Jean Barbour, Paul S. Nauss, Dallas Reddy, Joan Christie, Jean Norris (visitor), Rev. Catherine Christie (visitor), Margaret Embree (visitor), Nancy Wells, Tara Dixon, Terry Choyce, Jessie Bonnie Dawson, David Hart, Daniele Hart, Andrea Richard, Peter Davison, Debbie Ross-Pearce, Cyril Pearce, Carolyn Innes, Diane Livingston, Jennifer Hollett, Valerie Welsh, Lorraine DeLluca, Darrell Johnston, Nancy Johnston, Edith Gilbert, Amy Elms, Tais Apad Murtine, Cassandra Hanrahan, Margaret Archibald, Jean MacLeod, John Doehler, Ruby Brass-Brown, Len Church, Rev. Gloria Churchill, Al Darrach, Tony Janes, Kayla Wood, Mary Belliveau, Pam MacLean-Vessey,

Online: Nic Fieldsend, Brian King, Lorlie Williams-Marschall, Paul Read,

Sheryl Read, Jill Wilson, Carol McKnight, Bruce Wilson, Heather Boucher, Bedford United Church, Page 2 Congregational Meeting, July 28, 2024

Present Online (continued): Carol Walker, Wendy Levo, Holly Connor, Anne Levo Harrop, Gail Moore, Ruby O'Brien, Jocelyn Tingley, Patricia MacDonald

Call to Order: The Chair of Council, Tim Rorabeck, called the meeting to order, showed the Agenda on screen and explained the process.

Opening Prayer: Rev. Katie Aven offered the opening prayer.

Presentation of Search Committee: Tim Rorabeck invited members of the Search Committee forward to sit on the platform: Mary Belliveau, Nic Fieldsend, Nancy Johnston, Kendall Younger, Kayla Wood

OnScreen Presentation of Search Committee Task and Process: (attached)

Questions were asked and answered or discussed.

It was moved (Gloria Churchill/Andrea McQuillan) and **CARRIED** that all members and adherents of BUC be invited to vote.

It was moved (Ann MacVicar/John Doehler) that the Rev. Beth Hayward be called by Bedford United Church to fill the position of Lead Minister effective September 1, 2024, in accordance with the presented terms. The motion was CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

Bermuda Nova Scotia Regional Representative: Kathy McLeod gave a number of comments, reminding BUC that it was important to give Rev. Beth Hayward a proper chance to learn about BUC, to meet people and to give strong support. BUC will need open minds, hearts and spirits.

Adjournment was moved by Nancy Wells.

Chair: Tim Rorabeck Secretary: Carolyn Crowell